Dr. Jessie Satyanesan

 

travel germany2012

 

 

 

Dr. Jessie Satyanesan, Ph.D.

 

 

I live in Trivandrum, the capital of Kerala, India.
I was educated in India and the United States. I hold a joint doctorate in higher education and academic librarianship from the State University of New York at Buffalo. I also did post-doctoral studies at the Catholic University of America in Washington. D.C. Besides, I have a Master’s Degree in Intercultural Management from the School for International Training (World Learning) in Brattleboro, Vermont.
Previously I served as student advisor, library administrator, researcher and teacher.
I have multi-disciplinary research skills, Internet research, and home-based technology oriented research, content writing and  computer expertise.  I have over 30 years experience in the library and related areas.  To update my skills and to keep up with current research trends I have been taking MOOC courses from iversity.org  based in Potsdam, Germany.

At present I am a self-employed and I work on independent online projects.

Recently I was offered a 3-month fellowship to do on-site research  at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz(European Museum of Culture) in Berlin(German) from  March- June  2016 .

  In  2014 I was contracted by SRH Riedlingen online Management University, Riedlingen, Germany to prepare study letters (country profiles)  for their Bachelors in Business Administration international module.  The focus was on German-USA trade relations and Indo-German trade relations.   In this  connection I completed two country profiles (India &USA) successfully.   In February 2012  I  had an invitation  to visit Riedlingen University to acquaint  with their  management program  and  unique  facilities for online instruction . During this visit I met the  Vice-Chancellor ,  senior management team  and students.

My accomplishments:
As the Chief Librarian at Mohandas College of Engineering & Technology, Anad, Trivandrum, I managed the library services and hired personnel. I designed, developed and maintained a library portal .  I implemented Autolib library management software and  automated library functions.  Besides I initiated the bar-coding of student IDs.  I further  developed a digital library using Greenstone open source software and organized E-resources databases for the Digital Library Center.   I started the library collection from scratch and  increased the book collection  from 4000 to 30,000 (target) .  Besides, I enhanced the humanities  and  social sciences collection  which included  Japanese books in English  received as donation from Nippon Foundation through “Read Japan program 2011.”

As Chief Librarian of the Institute of Rural Management in Anand Gujarat , I managed library operation and services.   I handled budget, hired and supervised personnel, organized and conducted in-service training for faculty, students and staff.   I implemented a new library management software (Libsys) and initiated the bar coding of the library collection and circulation services.  This helped to improve the library services.  I served on committees-publications, computer services and library.

As Chief Librarian of Karunya Institute of Technology in Coimbatore, I assisted  in the transition of the library functions from the traditional to the computerized system. Besides  library administration, I handled  budgeting, supervised  acquisitions and cataloging of books.  I  also participated in the facilities planning process along with the Civil Engg. Dept.

At the United States educational Foundation in India at Madras (Chennai) American Consulate, I served as the Student Advisor for Southern Region.  I advised students seeking admission to U.S. universities in initiating applications. Interviewed, evaluated credentials, identified and recommended students for fellowships and scholarships on behalf of US universities. Administered ETS tests ((GRE,GMAT, SAT, TOEFL ), advised on visa application formalities and provided pre-departure orientation.

As the Head Librarian of Kodaikanal International School I managed an American funded college preparatory school library and introduced new services. planned, designed and improved the library facility and media center.

My experience in the United States:

One of the highlights of my career was serving as a researcher at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C. a prestigious think thank. I provided research assistance to Wilson scholars and conducted orientation tours for scholars and interns of the Library of Congress research facilities. Maintained the historical collection of Wilson Center Library and the adjacent Kennan Institute of Advanced Russian studies. In addition, I provided inter-library loan service for scholars through Library of Congress and area institutions. Some of the notable scholars included former ambassadors and writers such as Khuswant Singh, Rajmohan Gandhi, Sadoka Ogata of Japan, Olaf Lagercrantz, Guillaume de Bertier , James Billington and  others.

At the Central Maine Power Company in Augusta ,Maine, I evaluated and updated the collections of a corporate utility library. Prepared collection development policies and procedures, devised methods for obtaining copyright permission from publishers of journals for the health-oriented newsletter.

As Area Coordinator of Mildred Blake Center, at the University of Buffalo
Supervised the development, operations and services of a student-funded library consisting of print and electronic resources. Prepared monthly/annual reports and operations budget. Wrote grant proposals and solicited alternate sources of funding.  Was successful in acquiring  several cameras  for the library as donation from Polaroid Corporation.

As Assistant Librarian of Vermont Technical College, Randolph Center,  in rural Vermont, I supervised the technical services division, cataloged print and non-print materials and managed the library in the absence of the Director.

As Assistant Librarian of South Florence High School, in Florence, South Carolina I organized the collection and cataloged print and non-print materials, Besides I conducted library orientation and maintained the media resource center.

Visiting Librarian: university de las americas, Puebla, Mexico (Summer/Fall 1983). Provided training for the library staff in the technical services division.  Taught a course in cataloging including Library of Congress Classification Scheme, LCSH, AACR and MARC format.  Participated in a retrospective conversion project and in the automation of the library functions.

Library Fellow: American Studies Research Center, Osmania University Campus, Hyderabad, India.Evaluated the library collections, the technical services department and presented a report for funding purposes.

Languages: English, French, Spanish, German Hindi, Malayalam.
I have participated in library conferences in India and overseas.
My travels have taken me to Portugal, Germany, Mexico , France and the United States on   visits to libraries and to participate in conference.  I was funded by organizations such as BI-International and IATUL (International Association of Technological University Libraries)

I love reading, gardening, craft-work,  traveling and photography.

About jessiesatyanesan

Live in Trivandrum
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

